5E bottom half vs complete 5E

Nich

Fresh Recruit
Hey guys. I've had my Starlet about 3 months now. I recently upgraded to a tdo4. I got a chinese GT30 with the car and I want to put it to use. However I feel it will have too much lag on a 4e engine so I need help in deciding wether or not to get an entire 5e engine or just the bottom half. I'm still in school so my budget is tight.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of both cases?

Also take it easy on me. It's my first car so I'm new to the modifying world :oops:

Calum122

Member +
There are other ways to reduce the boost threshold on a 4E engine without the expense of a 5e. I take it you got a 4efte engine? As the 5e engines are N/A, you would really want to uprate components to make it handle the bigger turbo. So in otherwords, if you're on a budget, it might make more sense to stick with the current engine and think of other ways to lower that boost threshold

Jay

Admin
Hi bud, when the rest of the world build a 5EFE to turbo we normally use the head of the 4EFTE and the bottom end of the 5EFE with 4EFTE pistons.

This gives the extra cc of the 5E with pistons designed to handle boosted life coupled with a cylinder head with stronger valve springs that can take the abuse too.

That being said I notice you are from Jamaica and your fore-runners were boosting standard 5E's straight off the cuff. There were tales of using multiple headgaskets to bring compression down and mental boost levels being used back in the day but how much was true is anyone's guess. You could ask about local as it was a much travelled path in that part of the globe.

SKINY

Lifer
any more information on your Chinese turbo ? I've only had one experience with a Chinese turbo and it ended badly

Nich

Fresh Recruit
any more information on your Chinese turbo ? I've only had one experience with a Chinese turbo and it ended badly