Oil Leak 4EFTE GT EP82

Calum122

Member +
Hi Gents,

So I have been driving my GT after it's been parked up for the last three years outside...

It's running like a dream, idle does drop a little low at times, around 800 RPM but that's not always.

The problem I've got is a SAVAGE oil leak on the car.

I can't seem to pin point where it's coming from. I don't have access to a ramp. The car really needs tracking, but I'm too embarrassed to take it anywhere with this much oil leaking from it.

It's going all over the alternator, and the lower arms and all the hard work I put into it is starting to turn into a mess.

Let alone the driveway.

Anyway, is there any common places where these cars tend to leak oil from.

The amount it's losing is pretty drastic. Let us say I may have overfilled the oil slightly some 300 miles ago and it's dropped below the low mark. I never let it drop below the low mark, I kept topping it up as it got to the halfway mark, but I've done that a few times now.

Honestly, I kinda suspect it's the crankshaft seal, but seeing as the car has been off the road for so long, I'm reluctant to look there as I know it'll mean the car being off the road for some time again.

The other one is the dipstick o-ring. Is there like a particular size people have used to stop the leak?

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,

Calum

Jay

Admin
From the top..

The 4 seals on the rocker cover plug holes can leak. Usually means you get oil on top of the spark plugs.

Rocker cover gasket can leak as well. Worth inspecting. A new one isnt much.

O-ring on the distributor can leak after about a decade. Tell tale is oil on top of the thermostat housing sensors. If left long enough this can make the wiring brittle.

Intake cam seal cap should have a blob of sealer on it to prevent leaks. Pop the top belt cover off and run the engine to see if it's an issue.