Something Awful happened to me last night...

DriveR

Member +
Hi Guys,

Many of you probably won't know me, but I used to post on the old sites a lot. Well, I bought my GT in '03 and have been enjoying every moment of GT ownership since that day I drove her home, but alas, this has now come to an end.

I've only moved to this area recently, so not too familiar with certain things. I parked in this 2 storey car park I park in everyday, however i've never used it before in the evening, until yesterday. I literally just parked up popped in blockbusters to get a dvd, then came back to the car, hopped in, turned down the exit ramp as usual started braking before i turned left out of the building, as I do that WHAAAAAAAAAAAAM my whole windscreen smashes all over me and the roof comes down in front of my face which i end up headbutting hard enough to snap my teeth shut pretty awkwardly. I was covered in fine fragments of glass which stuck in my skin and i couldn't open the door to get out, so was trapped in.

What the @#£$ had happened???? Well, the car park people lock the car park up it seems, but there were no signs to tell me that, and I had driven down the exit ramp as normal but not seen a yellow iron bar going across the entrance and exit in one, at my windscreen and head height. Drove straight into the damn thing! I feel so stupid, and got so angry with myself that I didn't notice it, but coming down from above it, and seeing as I use that car park everyday during the day I guess i was on autopilot to some degree, it was just routine. Some people in the area talked about it being the car parks fault, although I am disgusted I didn't notice the bar. But to be fair, in my experience with multi-storey car parks, it is common place if you are shutting an entrance/exit, you place the bar at the beginning of the ramp, so that drivers may not enter, not at the base of a 1 storey ramp.