PDA

View Full Version : To change timing belt or not to change yet



zee20
12-03-2009, 03:49 PM
Right everyone just seeking advice whether to change my timing belt or not, cars done 107km and as 3 people I have already spoken to have said not to change it yet and is it a small easy job or a long hard job? How much should it cost? Any recommendations on who can do a good job on it in Leeds?


Thank you in advance

GTdan
12-03-2009, 03:52 PM
why should it be changed? when was it last changed?
its a non interfernce one anyway, so if it snaps, it just snaps and needs replacing wont take any cams or anythign with it.

Mike_ep91
12-03-2009, 03:53 PM
Every 6 years/100,000 km (whichever occurs first) replace timing belt & ancillary belts

sx_turbo
12-03-2009, 03:53 PM
how many miles has the car done?

do you know when the belt was last changed?

it's neither an easy or a really hard job.

cost wise your probably looking at 150 to replace the belt, and another 55 for the belt and tensioners

zee20
12-03-2009, 04:00 PM
Never Been changed peeps dunno what to do? Scared to even drive my car and hardly have any money left

350ep70gr
12-03-2009, 04:01 PM
Every 6 years/100,000 km (whichever occurs first) replace timing belt & ancillary belts

X2 and i take it you mean 107.000 km

zee20
12-03-2009, 04:02 PM
Cars done 107km roughly 63k miles

sx_turbo
12-03-2009, 04:04 PM
well the belt should have been changed, but you never know, is best to get it changed to be fair

zee20
12-03-2009, 04:16 PM
:(what if it snaps though before i get it changed?will it cause severe damage?:confused:

zee20
12-03-2009, 04:17 PM
car was imported in 2008 and it had 100km on the clock and not been changed since been in the uk, should be ok still scared to even take it out of the drive

350ep70gr
12-03-2009, 04:21 PM
:(what if it snaps though before i get it changed?will it cause severe damage?:confused:
99% you will be safe if it snaps before you manage to change it.

zee20
12-03-2009, 04:24 PM
99% you will be safe if it snaps before you manage to change it.

so would it be ok to drive it a few more hundred miles?

h3ppy
12-03-2009, 07:12 PM
i decided to change mine just because i was doin the turbo and the belt was completely knackered! 3 teeth were missin and it would have snapped any minute! the history of the car says it had another 10000miles till i think bout changin it, so just shows you!

if YOU dont no or are even the slightest bit unsure i would get it done!:)

Adam_Glanza
12-03-2009, 07:18 PM
thats bollocks these engines arent non interferance!!

if the belt breaks it will go bang, it should be change at 60,000 miles or 8 years i believe, so change it asap.

dac69er
12-03-2009, 07:19 PM
ive done 2 of my starlets now. need to get the other one done sometime soon.

only hard bits i found when doing it is getting the new belt on easily as it tends to be really tight. then getting that top cover on takes a bit of trickery. once you work it out its easy though :)

dac69er
12-03-2009, 07:20 PM
thats bollocks these engines arent non interferance!!

if the belt breaks it will go bang, it should be change at 60,000 miles or 8 years i believe, so change it asap.

everyone seems to have differing ideas on this. i dont know myself.

anyone have any concrete evidence either way????

gv1.3
12-03-2009, 07:27 PM
anyone want to do up a tutorial?!? Would help a lot of members out and earn ya some rep points :)

Shaun1
12-03-2009, 07:42 PM
If it does break the likely hood is that damage would be caused to the internals of the engine, If you've got a starlet and not a galanza then you could be over or near the age threshold as well. In my opinion, it is better to spend the comparitivly small ammount of a timing belt change compared to the cost of having to rebuild your engine.

Its better to be safe than sorry.

zee20
12-03-2009, 08:09 PM
If it does break the likely hood is that damage would be caused to the internals of the engine, If you've got a starlet and not a galanza then you could be over or near the age threshold as well. In my opinion, it is better to spend the comparitivly small ammount of a timing belt change compared to the cost of having to rebuild your engine.


your right mate, just got a price from local lads, 60 for fitting a timing belt
Its better to be safe than sorry.

dac69er
12-03-2009, 08:14 PM
your right mate, just got a price from local lads, 60 for fitting a timing belt
Its better to be safe than sorry.

thats not bad. i would change the idle and tensioner pulley if you can. new new GT had very npoisy bearings. you could here it in the car and it sounded really rough.

if you get it all done then you can pretty much forget about it.

zee20
12-03-2009, 08:17 PM
thats not bad. i would change the idle and tensioner pulley if you can. new new GT had very npoisy bearings. you could here it in the car and it sounded really rough.

if you get it all done then you can pretty much forget about it.

need to find out how much the idle and tensioner pulleys are first and where to get them from :confused:

dac69er
12-03-2009, 08:37 PM
need to find out how much the idle and tensioner pulleys are first and where to get them from :confused:

full kit including belt, and both pulleys is usually around 55.
with the fitting you got quoted that makes it just over 100 all in

zee20
12-03-2009, 08:52 PM
full kit including belt, and both pulleys is usually around 55.
with the fitting you got quoted that makes it just over 100 all in

is it a dealer only part though?

lleey2k4
12-03-2009, 08:55 PM
I noticed on my cambelt cover theres a sticker which says some crap in japanese and then its got 77526km so im presuming mine was changed then.

MarcoFTE
12-03-2009, 09:00 PM
I would change the timing belt if I were you. I didn't change mine when I installed the swap. Month or two after that the cambelt area started making some weird noises sometimes. Changed everything and the sound was gone. The 4E series are non-interference. That should mean you're okay when it snaps. However, if you're doing high revs, you could get unlucky.

zee20
12-03-2009, 09:03 PM
I would change the timing belt if I were you. I didn't change mine when I installed the swap. Month or two after that the cambelt area started making some weird noises sometimes. Changed everything and the sound was gone. The 4E series are non-interference. That should mean you're okay when it snaps. However, if you're doing high revs, you could get unlucky.



yep its a 4e, something just started making a slight knocking noise, if i turn the headlights on and press the foot break then it makes a knocking noise

dac69er
12-03-2009, 09:08 PM
is it a dealer only part though?

nope.

http://www.camskill.co.uk/products.php?plid=m19b0s1302p4211

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Toyota-Starlet-EP82-EP91-Cam-belt-kit_W0QQitemZ180033547017QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_Car sParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM?hash=item180033547017&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1683|66%3A2|65%3A12|39%3A1|240%3A13 18


and go to any motor factors and just ask for a cambelt kit for a 1.3 starlet. if you can get a blueprint kit they are good quality.

Stulet-GTT
14-03-2009, 05:21 PM
nope.

http://www.camskill.co.uk/products.php?plid=m19b0s1302p4211

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Toyota-Starlet-EP82-EP91-Cam-belt-kit_W0QQitemZ180033547017QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_Car sParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM?hash=item180033547017&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1683|66%3A2|65%3A12|39%3A1|240%3A13 18


and go to any motor factors and just ask for a cambelt kit for a 1.3 starlet. if you can get a blueprint kit they are good quality.

Are these two you have posted ok???
Im looking at doing mine an toyota said not to do tensioner's, but i would rather do them to be safe...

dac69er
14-03-2009, 05:24 PM
i cant vouch for those exact sets but ive used 2 blueprint cambelt kits and have been happy with them.

why would they say not to change the tensioner and idler bearings? if you saw how fucked mine were on my newest mk1 then you would change them. you could hear them grinding while driving the car.

even on my uk starlet that had a cambelt kit fitted by toyota on its last cambelt change. the bearings on that were getting a it worn.

TO82
14-03-2009, 05:28 PM
How much was the Blue print kit, and is the Normal UK starlet timing belt and tensioners the same as the 4efte?

dac69er
14-03-2009, 05:32 PM
How much was the Blue print kit, and is the Normal UK starlet timing belt and tensioners the same as the 4efte?

was about the same price as these kits. between 50 and 55.

the kits is exactly the same whether its for a 4efe or a 4efte :)

Stulet-GTT
14-03-2009, 05:40 PM
why would they say not to change the tensioner and idler bearings? if you saw how fucked mine were on my newest mk1 then you would change them. you could hear them grinding while driving the car.

I went there the other week for an oil filter but whilst there asked for a price of a kam belt kit, he said they dont do kit's so i asked about the tensioner's an he said they dont chance them as its not really needed????
At that point i walked out...

But this is one of the thing's on my list of to do's...

dac69er
14-03-2009, 05:42 PM
they dont usually change them as most people wouldnt take there 20 year old toyota to a main dealer for a cambelt change.

they mainly do cars around the 5 year kinda mark. later than that alot of people wouldnt bother.

for the peice of mind you may as well do it.

Stulet-GTT
14-03-2009, 05:46 PM
Yer while you got it in bit's you might aswell change the lot...
I have no history with the car at all so dont know when it or if it was changed at all...

I had a tensioner start to give up on my 306 GTi-6 an wen i floored it, it sounded like a super charger :haha:

TO82
14-03-2009, 06:08 PM
was about the same price as these kits. between 50 and 55.

the kits is exactly the same whether its for a 4efe or a 4efte :)

Cheers for that mate, rep added :)

cameroon95
14-03-2009, 06:55 PM
I bought the cambelt kit from camskills.

Good quality and seems to run the car fine.

Great price aswell