Boost leak/fuel cut

gtevi

Member +
Hey guys my gt starlet is hitting what I think is fuel cut at just under 5k with my foot flat to the floor.
Would it be worth getting a boost and vaccum leak test to check for any tiny leaks, all the hose are very old but I can't see any damage or cracks.
Is it something easy enough to do yourself or best to get a mechanic to do?
For reference I have a 94 gt with exhaust, decat, wepr mani hks adjustment actuator, ct9 (rebuild)with wastegate slightly ported.

SKINY

Lifer
Hose leaks can be a nuisance to find on old hoses, you could try listening while blipping the throttle or some soapy water rubbed over them will soon reveal bubbles
You can do a smoke test yourself, plenty of videos on YouTube shows how it's done :)

gtevi

Member +
Yeah I've seen few YouTube clips but none on a 4efte. I know it would be the same situation for most motors but I'm far from a mechanic and a little paranoid ill do something stupid.
Skinny, you been a big help in my journey so far if I could judt get your guidance or steps as to how I go about it, it would be a massive help.
This is my girl. Cheers

Attachments

• 20240211_194340.jpg
    20240211_194340.jpg
    179 KB · Views: 8

gtevi

Member +
Yeah I've seen few YouTube clips but none on a 4efte. I know it would be the same situation for most motors but I'm far from a mechanic and a little paranoid ill do something stupid.
Skinny, you been a big help in my journey so far if I could judt get your guidance or steps as to how I go about it, it would be a massive help.
This is my girl. Cheers
Referring to the smoke test, couldn't find/hear anything with the motor on.

Badmoon

Member +