Help needed please - Wireless!!!

ChrisW

Lifer
Im planning on getting a PS3 for Xmas and was wondering how to set up wireless internet.

At the minute we have an external modem box that obviously sits between the tower and the phone line. Is it just a case of replacing the modem with a router and away we go? Or is there more to it? I want it to connect my PS3 to and my bro has a laptop. Help appreciated :D

dan

Member +
yes, you will need a wireless router. Not sure how the ps3 will connect as i dont have one, but you can buy a wireless card for the pc / laptop or buy a usb wireless dongle. You may probably have to set up all the gateway stuff etc. not sure how thats done as im not that technically minded.

ChrisW

Lifer
yes, you will need a wireless router. Not sure how the ps3 will connect as i dont have one, but you can buy a wireless card for the pc / laptop or buy a usb wireless dongle. You may probably have to set up all the gateway stuff etc. not sure how thats done as im not that technically minded.

Hmmm, gateway stuff etc, sounds interesting lol :rolleyes:!

I wont need wireless cards etc will I if the laptop and PS3 are wi-fi enabled or whatever it is???

Matchew

Member +
Yeah man you need a wireless router for the ps because when you set it up you have to syncronise the the ps3 to the router so you can use the internet and play online.

Cause you get the serial number and the model number off the router and the pus3 searches for the router and picks up the signal dead easy to do and only has to be done once

ChrisW

Lifer
Yeah man you need a wireless router for the ps because when you set it up you have to syncronise the the ps3 to the router so you can use the internet and play online.

Cause you get the serial number and the model number off the router and the pus3 searches for the router and picks up the signal dead easy to do and only has to be done once

Ok cool so every router will have the serial numbers etc on them?

Matchew

Member +