Lots of fumes out of exhaust when shifting?

Schism

Fresh Recruit
Hi TGTT community.

So I bought a EP82 the other day, it was pretty cheap in comparison to other cars for sale with the same amount of modifications. Went to pick it up and gave it a little test spin and it drove well. Bought the car and got my dad to drive it back for me (as I wasnt covered or insured at that time) and I noticed as I was following him that there seemed to be large amounts of fumes being chucked at the back temporarily, when reaching boost and changing gear and it smelt aweful!. Sometimes the fumes appeared to be really dark, othertimes really light.

I'm guessing this isnt natural, but im not a mechanic and the people i know arent familiar with these cars as they're imported so I'm wondering whats up?

I had a look under the hood and the car seemed to be spitting out oil. One of my friends who owns a EP82 said he had the same problem and he gave me an oil catch can and told me to buy 2 filters and some silicon hose, but didnt go into great detail in how to remedy the problem, any help guys?

Edit: When the car is ideling or not boosting it appears to be normal. Only when boosting and shifting, or boosting and slowing down does the car chuck out lots of fumes.

Gtstu

Member +
mhmm so you have oil coming from the breather?i would get a compression test done to rule out anything major.

does it missfire at all? oil coming from dump valve isn normal!.. sounds like worn rings or cracked piston! or could be turbo/oil seals

ruggiero06

Member +
Hi TGTT community.