new to tgtt

finx

Member +
1st ill start off by saying kiora to all you guys and girls from down here in new zealand.

heres a bit about myself and then my car
my names ryan, and im a diesel mechanic. i enjoy getting stuck in and fixing things up. specially stuff people think is compleetly stuffed and making them go better than before.

im into outdoor living and anything that's a good hard challenge.
i do down hill and free ride mountain biking, skiing (snow and water) and play and refferee basketball. (im one of the best 'junior' refferee's in australasia)

i drive a verry rear genuine 1986 ep71 turbo s
it has had numerious engine/driveline and suspention set ups over the past 3 years i have owned it. each was aimed at being something different and cool in its own right.

started off as a stock as you can get 2etelu 1295cc sohc
it stayed like this for ages as i was a broke student and was saving to do it up
i got it to a dyno day (organised by starlet central the nz starlet site) while still compleetly stock with just on 200,000km on the clock and it still managed a whopping 90hp@wheels :haha:
i then took it down to the drag strip one winter meet and in the same stock guise managed a 15.5@142km/h with a 2.3 60ft on cheepo tyres.

i then gradually did a few bits and ices to it
2et set up ended up with a full exhaust system, removed a/c and all the extra gear no longer needed. had lowering springs a shot shifter and an adjustable turbo actuator (made myself)
raced my mates gtst r32 skyline and beat him so was pritty happy with the outcome of that set up.
the engine had a miss hap with a self destructing oil pump pully so i then put a 4efte in it

at the same time as i put the 4efte in i changed the top mount intercooler for a e39a vr4 item and 2 inch stainless piping. and tinkered with a few other bits and pices. was a bit quicker than the 2e but mainly it just reved allot nicer then the grumbly old sohc