Question about air compressor size.

lleey2k4

Member +
Right im a self employed mobile mechanic/ Mechanic for a garage part time, and got to the stage now where im missing my air tools when im on the van.

So looking to buy an air compressor, does anyone know much about them for using air tools mainly Air guns to keep maximum pressure for a decent length of time.

I know what pressure is needed and cfm and would need to be 240V.

The thing i need to know is what would be a suitable litre tank for using most air tools?

Considering it has to fit in a Citroen Dispatch van.

Cheers.

lleey2k4

Member +
Im thinking a 50 litre wont be able to hold enough pressure for too long before needing to kick in to build up pressure again when undoing say 4 wheel nuts or a subframe bolt which would be nice and tight.

rage

Lifer
i've got a 50 liter one and the pressure drops fast when using big tools like air hammers.
can only undo 2 wheels before the compressor starts building pressure again.

in a garage it's no problem but on the road? you would need a heck of a lot of air.

isn't it possible to supply the compressor from a compressed air cilinder? like a divers set?
they can hold a lot of pressure. but you would need a air filler station somewhere close. like a dive club

lleey2k4

Member +
Thats sounds way too complex mate i'vre seen a 150 litre air compressor from machine mart and they have an offer where everything is vat free so would be £439.

Its just 1390mm long so 1.4 metres which would take up most of my van tbh, but i may buy it and try it and rearrange things.

Texx

Super Moderator