Where to start?

xchurdlex

Fresh Recruit
Hey im new here but have been signed up for awhile. I'm looking to start modifing my engine, but really dont no were to start, its a ep91 and totally standard bar the dumpvalve, its lowered and a turbo timer. I want to do things right which is why im asking advise and not going straight in a puting parts in that shud be supported by something else first. jjayokocha on here is my fella and he no's his stuff like but i want other peoples views too, as im doin my mods myself. I'm a trainee mechanic so i can do most of the fitting myself. Thanks in advance.

Cheryl

Mikey4410

Member +
heres some possible mods you could do that i have done on mine.....Uprated fuel pump,rising rate fuel pressure regulator,fcd, decat,straight through hks silent system(just end can only)manual boost control set to 16psi,dump valve,no power steering,Sunroof,aircon or interior,15" alloys with maxxis tyres

some of these things will require set up on a dyno

these are just some examples.....

pilgrim_fgau

Member +
imo...

bypass the hi/lo solenoid
decat exhaust, preferably 2.5"
ported manifold
HKS actuator
Boost guage
rising rate fuel pressure regulator
HKS Fuel Cut Defender
get the fueling set up on the rollers and that should get you started, and you should see close to 180 bhp @ 1 bar of boost :cool:

enjoy

gglavin

Member +
or you could sort your handling, for example

coilovers
brakes discs, pads & lines
remove your a/c & relocate the filter to front

this would be a good start IMO & allows you to make most of what youv got. but thats just me

pilgrim_fgau

Member +
wud agree on the coilovers... personally i think the brakes are good enough for road use, unless your going to be flying and need to get stopped in a hurry, some nice engine mods will give you a nice increase of torque... but depends what you want from the car

jjayokocha

Ulster Area Rep