Competition Clutch Review

spuddy

Ulster Area Rep.
East Coast Customs along with Competition Clutch where kind enough to offer me a little sponsorship for the 2010 race season in the form of a Competition Clutch and to also provide some stress testing of their new product.

I have been testing out their 6 pad paddle Stage 4 Clutch (250-300% increase torque capacity over stock). I had been using a 3 pad Excedy Stage 2 paddle clutch for the 2009 race season and the difference is night and day.

With the Excedy unit you get a very very hard pedal and being 3 pad it is extremely harsh with juddering in traffic, which was fine for me beacuse I don't use the car for alot of street driving, but I'm aware juddering for a daily driven car can put people off.

The first thing immediatly noticable with the Competition Clutch was the pedal was alot lighter than the Excedy unit and just slightly uprated! Also being 6 pad its alot nicer to drive in traffic, hardly any judder of it and you can slip it in traffic alot more than the Excedy unit which makes it much nicer for a daily driven motor.

I have put some miles on the Clutch now and have been stressing it to try and slip it. It has handled everything I've thrown at it, 2nd gear 6000rpm Launches, no problem. Also full boost in 5th I've dipped the Clutch and let it out quick and still no slip, also launched from 1st with launch control+boost at 5500rpm and up through the gears as fast as possible and its still holding strong.

Overall I'm very impressed, and the kit is great, you get the pressure plate, the friction plate, the release bearing, the wee fiddly flywheel bearing and an alighnment tool to fit it.