20w50 oil???

sx_turbo

Lifer
right so i've just picked up my engine from the builder.

and after talking to him about how he thinks i should run it in and the oil i should use,

he said to run it in with just buy some cheapo 10w40 mineral oil (NOT semi synthetic), which i agree with.

but,

he said once it's run in because the engine doesnt rely on hydraulic tappets, to use valvoline 20w50 vr1 racing oil.

now i know this works in mini's, but wouldnt be a bit thick for my car?

i mean the car will only be used weekends, and i just cant help but think that it would be to thick on cold start up.

what dop you guys think?

GTdan

In The Closet
hmmm...i plan on using 10w40 fully for once mine has run in, and as you said using mineral to run it in with.

20 does sound a bit to thick for me, but im not a mechanic or build engines and only going off what ive read and been told.

sx_turbo

Lifer
hmmm...i plan on using 10w40 fully for once mine has run in, and as you said using mineral to run it in with.

20 does sound a bit to thick for me, but im not a mechanic or build engines and only going off what ive read and been told.

my exact same thoughts lol.

i just dont want anything to bloody go wrong this time round.

sx_turbo

Lifer
well on the dyno the max temp the oil saw was 115 degrees celcius, and that was on the stock block with a hybrid ct9 being pushed to within it's limits.

never had an oil temp gauge in before but i have one this time, but will get the runing in done first, before i fit the oil filter relocation kit.

Rory

Lifer
Thats a bit thick,
Aye it will be fine in a mini, but the sump in a mini is also the gearbox oil, and it will have a harder time.

I was recomended to run Fully Synthetic Silkolene 5w40.
Never had an issue.

sx_turbo

Lifer
see that what i was gonna run, valvoline 5w40 fully syn,

but he said 20w50 would be ideal, and thought i would just ask other peoples opinions.