big brake set up

xx YICK xx

Member +
Hi all, I'd like to show you all my big brake set up (280mm discs) which is a vast improvement, But unfortunatly i dont know how to get my piccies on, Can anyone help, Many thanks

Mark-ep91

Member +
go to photobucket.com setup an account and upload ur pics to it, once the pic is uploaded click copy the img code over from that picture into the thread here :)

xx YICK xx

Member +
Ok then, This is my first attempt so if it goes wrong plz dont get on at me. I've decided to go the gt4 route mainly because of cost but to be honest when i done it after the the st182 twin pots i decided to buy all new coz it was stayin on, As you all know standard brakes are rubbish, Twin pots abit better, This set up much, Much better.
finished.jpg

Firstly get some astra cdti discs, There are 2 types one with a 70mm hole but get the one with the 60mm hole its almost a perfect fit. Take the discs to a machine shop and get them to take 1.5mm off the inside where it mates to the hub and 2.5mm off the outside diameter so it ends up 278mm
before machining
discbeforemachining.jpg

beforemachining.jpg

after machining
aftermachining.jpg

Stick your caliper on, Quick bleed and away you go...Happy days
Heres the difference in the caliper carriers as well
differenceincarriers.jpg

See how bigger the gt4 on the right is, I'd just like to say depending on which wheel you are using, I had to shave a little off the front of the caliper carrier and fit a 3mm spacer in £10 off e-bay for 4. The wheels i am getting there is no need for the spacer.
discs........£66
calipers....£100
machine...£20........£186...Best money i've spent on the car
readytoroll.jpg

Second hand discs and calipers you'll be grinning all day

jayc-glanza17

Fresh Recruit
i did a st165 caliper conversion matey, with celica discs 255mm and what an upgrade in terms of fade,
discs are 7 or 8mm thicker then stock, and unless u know starlets they look standard-ish.