trd lsd oil

popsy09

Munster Area Rep.
well i just need a confirmation on the oil i need for the lsd i was told to get

Silkolene SILKTRAN SYN 5 75W-90 Fully Synthetic Gear Oil
but was reading up on additives do i need one also or will the above do ???
thanks

ashygt

Member +
could you not just get kaaz or cusco diff oil,need someone to confirm it but there a clutch type clutch like the trd.

thanks stu

popsy09

Munster Area Rep.
could you not just get kaaz or cusco diff oil,need someone to confirm it but there a clutch type clutch like the trd.

thanks stu

im not sure this is my first time having an lsd so im just getting what im told to lol

popsy09

Munster Area Rep.
The oil mentioned is fine, thats what I use in mine mate :)

ok cool just wanted to be sure ,its costly enough to isnt it .and its sold in 1 litre bottles and wouldnt ya know i need just over a litre :p:p:p

is it true you have to change it every 3000 miles ??

Sparky

Member +
Cant remember how many miles I did in my car but it was more than that.

You can tell when it needs changing though it will feel alot more clunky. Only changed it once and it felt alot smoother

popsy09

Munster Area Rep.
Cant remember how many miles I did in my car but it was more than that.

You can tell when it needs changing though it will feel alot more clunky. Only changed it once and it felt alot smoother

will remember that !!!! cant wait to get the thing fitted and actually feel some traction and be able to press the accelerator going round a corner:p:p

weakboy2

Member +
sorry guys but thats the wrong oil, you need ls oil, there is a post about it from akaye4000, ricky is the guy to talk to.

that oil is what i use on my gt with a quaife helical lsd. mechanical diffs need additive or lsd oil.

weakboy2

Member +
will be working unnefficiently then mate, if you go by the book its the wrong oil thats all.

good oil, but not for plated/clutched diffs.

tgidavid

Member +
Depends on the LSD type.

Gear LSD (aka ATB)