Bogging down @ 1st & 2nd gear... Need Help guys...

madayaw_ep82

Fresh Recruit
Hi guys,

A newbie here.

Hope you could help me out.

Im currently running on a stock block 4efte w/ tdo4L turbo.

Launching @ 5k RPM and wheel spin until red line. Launch at 4800rpm and the car bogs down.

My problem is, when I shifted to 2nd gear my rpm decreases from 7500rpm to 4000rpm which the turbo is still starting to spool which causes bogging down and hurting my E.T. I want to use full slick on the strip but even using on Federal 595 rsr street tires I get the same problem.:(

I dont really know what the problem is so pardon if I miss posted on the wrong section.

Hope to hear from the guru's here. I really need your help guy's..

Thanks you in advance.:)

when you say lanching you meaning lanch control or when your driving nailing it (booting it) revs shouldent be droping this much atall when changing to second, could still be wheel spining thanks dan

Last edited:

Fatman

Member +
Revs definitely do not drop from 7500 to 4000 on shift to second gear, if you're changing to second and seriously ending up at 4000rpm then you're still spinning the wheels in 1st and changing gear prematurely. Rev out first gear ALL the way for the best acceleration, if you're unable to modulate wheelspin with the throttle then it might pay to sit on the limiter for a brief period to allow road speed to catch up to wheel speed.

Aside from that, a td04 should be well into the meat of its boost curve by 4k rpm...

madayaw_ep82

Fresh Recruit
@ fatman,

my ep82 is hitting boost around 4500K and around 5k for the full boost.

Yes Im noticing wheel spin in 1st gear until red line and a bit in 2nd gear.

Tried bouncing the limiter 3x before engaging to 2nd and got a much more positive result without the case of bogging down. This is just
okay though if im using my street tires. But never tried it on slicks.