Forged engine rattle thats concerning me

Luke.R

Member +
Hi guys, need a bit of help here. I have bought a forged engine last week and fitted it yesterday, now I'm a mechanic by trade so I know what im doing and Im using the correct oil, but Im getting quite concerned with the rattle it has, the engine is second hand and has done 5 - 6k miles according to the person I got it off, and he told be it had a bit of piston slap due to oversized pistons, so knowing this I did expect a slight noise till it was hot, but this noise is constant and I changes my cams and lifters over from my old engine and there was no difference. I changed the cams over because. I though it sounded a bit top endy, but after listening a bit closer it is coming from the bottom. now I have a video of it and wondered if anyone could let me know what they think?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r1uepTF2JK4&feature=youtube_gdata_player

mork

Member +
If it's coming from the bottom then it'll be knackered shells I would guess. I don't know much about forged lumps, but I've read they rattle at the top end when idling, but that's not just rattle, sounds considerably worse than that. Drop the sump and take the bearings out, see if there's any damage. If not, at least you've eliminated the bearings/crank.

Luke.R

Member +
Cams are deffo tensioned as I always put a bolt through the service hole before removing. I know the cams are getting plenty of oil so I guess maybe do you reckon its worth checking the clearance between the shims and cam lobes?

sx_turbo

Lifer
check the clearance on the shims, it doesnt sound like bottom end,

the rattling sounds normal, the loud ticking however sounds like and exhaust downpipe or manifold leak
check your manifold gaskets and for exhaust leaks, makes similar noise difficult when not physically there

Last edited:

AdamB

Member +
check the clearance on the shims, it doesnt sound like bottom end,